ING Unseen Talent Award: Announcing the Talent Scouts and Jury

by Unseen June 25 2015

Following our new collaboration with ING, we are pleased to announce the chosen scouts and jury members that will be involved in the selection process of the eventual ING Unseen Talent Award winner.

For the ING Unseen Talent Award the talent scouts, much like the artists to be selected, are all Benelux-based photography professionals. They are Christophe de Jaeger (Director of Photography, BOZAR, The Centre for Fine Arts, Belgium), Michèle Walerich (Curator, Photography Department, CNA, Centre National de l’Audiovisuel, Luxembourg) and Marcel Feil (Deputy Director of Artistic Affairs, FOAM, the Netherlands). Each of the scouts provides a list of five talents from their respective countries, from which a preselection of a final five artists will then be chosen by ING and Unseen. According to Marcel Feil, "We look for strong voices with a convincing visual language. Authenticity and the guts to move away from the beaten track are both very important". The final shortlist will be announced at the beginning of next month.

We are also proud to announce the jury who will select the winner for the ING Unseen Talent Award at an exclusive award ceremony during the official opening evening of Unseen on the 17th of September. The members of this jury have been selected for their professional knowledge and experience, and include:

  • Frits Gierstberg (Curator, Nederlands Fotomuseum, Rotterdam)
  • Kaat Celis (former Chief of Photography, De Morgen and founder of arts management company Sluitertijd)
  • Sanne ten Brink (Head Curator, ING Collection)
  • Duncan Forbes (Director and Curator, Fotomuseum Winterthur)
  • Paul di Felice (Co-director and curator of Café Crème edition and European Month of Photography Luxembourg )

For more information on this new collaboration, click here.

Previous award winners: f.l.t.r. Maurice van Es (Public Award winner 2014), Ola Lanko (Jury Prize winner 2013), and Anne Geene (Jury Prize winner 2014) © Marleen Kuipers